Facebook icon Instagram icon

About Summit County Progressive Democrats

Our monthly meetings and public programs educate our membership and the general public In several ways. We invite elected officials to meet and address our members at our monthly meetings and answer questions from the attendees. We invite knowledgeable speakers to inform us about issues of importance to progressives. We provide programs, such as candidate forums, issues forums, and movies.

Large group at monthly meeting

Twenty-six of our members serve as Democratic precinct committee people focused on building an infrastructure of citizens who will actively distribute information about candidates and issues and get out the vote in their neighborhoods.

We register voters and educate them on their voting rights.

We meet the second Tuesday of each month at the Main Akron Public Library at 60 South High Street, in meeting room two. The meetings begin at 6:30 PM.

For more information, contact: president@summitprogdems.org.

Our Principles

As members of the Summit County Progressive Democrats we believe in:


President: Thomas Townsend

Executive Vice President: Valerie McKitrick

Administrative Vice President: Sherrie Weitzenhof

Executive Secretary: Eddie Rice

Recording Secretary: Shelly Evans

Treasurer: Dick Bardoulas

Assistant Treasurer: Open

Communications: Anthony Gomez

Issues: Robert Gippin

Campaign Support: Sarah Rubens

Campaign Development: Tom Schmida

Fundraising: Open

Members-at-Large: Linda Omobien, Edna Borders, Pete Zeigler